Cult Classic Week 1: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

One of my Summer Goals was to watch one “cult classic” movie per week. This week E and I watched One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. While it may not be the best movie I’ve ever seen, it was definitely one of the most confusing.

A brief synopsis from my point of view: a man is sent to an insane asylum, messes with the system, receives a lobotomy, and then a large Native American man runs away. The end.

You can tell that I really didn’t understand the point of the story.

E later told me that, in the book, the “story” (if you can call it that because there isn’t really a plot…) is told from Chief’s point of view and that McMurphy’s character doesn’t even exist. Which makes a helluva lot more sense to me. I will have to investigate this and fact check. I’ll probably have to do a fair amount of abstract thinking and cliff note checking before I figure out what the hell the author was getting at.

I’m going to compile a list of the movies I’ll be watching for the rest of the summer and you guys can look forward to it being posted soon!

Until then,

One thought on “Cult Classic Week 1: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

  1. Pingback: Clut Classics/Flims You Should Watch Set List « Curly Hair, Straight Talk

Tell Me About It

