If You Don’t Have Anything Nice to Say, Don’t Say Anything at All

Facebook has almost been the death of me this week. I feel like my life (and my news feed, for that matter) is just chock-full of negative people.

I’m, from this moment forward, on a direct mission to expel all the ones I can from having any direct influence on my life and my happiness.

 Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

I’m working hard on not letting other people have any rule over my feelings, but I must’ve signed permission slips for people to mess with my emotions this week.

Sometimes I think humans weren’t fitted with a proper filter. I know I’ve said things that I have immediately regretted.

That’s the thing about speaking though, once you’ve said the words, they can only be forgiven, never retracted. Sometimes life just needs a rewind button.

Which is why I’m on my soap box right now, I’m not ready to forgive those people. At least not without a good lecture first!

 So here are the things I want to say to those people who speak with no regard for other people’s feelings:

 A.        You don’t care about other’s feelings when you speak to or about them? Great, whatever works for you, but now you know why people don’t like you. (And also why we are no longer Facebook friends; I don’t need you bringing me down.)

B.         You don’t have to be rude to make a point.

C.        If you wouldn’t say it to your momma, don’t say it all. (If you would’ve said that to your momma, something went very wrong in your raising!)

D.        Everyone you meet, everyone, has something going in their life that is ever-shaping and changing and influencing their emotions and feelings. Think about that before you open your mouth with negative words. Just because you’ve had a bad day, doesn’t make it appropriate to make someone else also have a bad day.

E.         Lastly, I feel so sorry for you. Harboring that much negativity and resentment in your body (so much that you just can’t help but spew it into the faces of your unsuspecting victims) cannot, in any way, be good for you, physically, mentally, or spiritually.

 All of that being said, I am now done lecturing and I want you to know this:

I want nothing more than to live my life with a happy and giving spirit. I want to do everything that I can to make someone else’s (hell, everyone else’s) day special and better than it was before they met me. If everyone else could do the same, it would do the entire world a huge favor. So think before you speak, for everyone’s sake.

 End rant.

3 thoughts on “If You Don’t Have Anything Nice to Say, Don’t Say Anything at All

Tell Me About It

