Clean Up, Clean Up, Everybody Do Your Share

Hey guys! Long time, no post! Sorry about that. Bet you thought I forgot all about the blog! Haha! Joke’s on you! I’ve been a busy girl! I’ll tell you all about it over a cup of green tea and some Counting Crows.

I have exactly one week before I go back to college. One week. The back to school blues have officially set in. In preparation for back to school, E has a couple of traditions. The biggest and most daunting yet overall most fulfilling is our bi-annual apartment purging. Mostly this just pertains to me, since I am the worst about keeping stuff I don’t really need. At the beginning of July as we were laying in bed one night, E said, “I think we should purge the apartment again and I think we should break it up into sections. One weekend at a time.” So we did. Actually, I mostly did. You remember the clean up song from Barney? Well, I was a Barney kid and I do remember it. I sang it in my head the entire time I was cleaning. It pushed me through.

The Bathroom

First off, I purged the bathroom. (I apologize that I don’t have many before pictures, I got so excited that I forgot to take them!) That was mostly my stuff anyway. It wasn’t too hard to throw away my stuff because most of it was almost empty bottles of stuff I had tried but it hadn’t worked. I did have a plethora of hair rollers which I gave to E’s mom. Plus, I had just discovered the honey face washing technique, so I was perfectly happy to throw away all that chemical crap I had. Here are the after pics of the bathroom:

This is actually the only before picture I took!

This is my giant trash bag of junk!

My beautiful drawer after I organized it. It actually still looks like this!

My side of the cabinets is super-duper clean!

This is my beautiful counter top after the purge! Ta-Da!

This is my new and improved "crunchy" cabinet! Including witch hazel, ACV, baking soda, olive oil, coconut oil, essential oils, honey, and saran wrap!

So that was the bathroom! Whew! Bet you’re tired just looking at those pictures!

The Closet

Then I did my closet. It was an area of its own.

I used to be anal about making sure my closet was organized. You can ask any of my friends from high school. It was organized by color, type, and even had further sub-categories such as sleeve length. Well guess what? I fell of the organized wagon. -BUT- I’m back! I have the hardest time getting rid of clothes. Even if I know I never wear them, I always think, “What if…” but the scenario never seems to happen, so at E’s urging, I always suck it up and give the things I never wear to friends or Goodwill. My friends love me, as you can imagine! Here are the after pictures of my closet:

You can see that is now organized by color!

Just so you can compare how it used to look, this is a pic of E’s side. I swear mine was just as bad, if not worse!

The "before" and after.

I also did the pantry and refrigerator, but I didn’t take any pictures because they are both very empty and very sad-looking right now.

Purging is good for the soul

It feels good to let go. They say the happiest people are the ones who have the fewest things. Maybe that is true. The less you love stuff, the more time you have to love people, although it may be more of a challenge. Whatever your reason for purging your home of the things you don’t really need, make sure you do it often, because in reality, you don’t need that many things. Just take a deep breath and let it go.

4 thoughts on “Clean Up, Clean Up, Everybody Do Your Share

  1. I like the closet pic that shows you in the mirror. It’s funny. I have so much I need to purge! I hate getting rid of things but afterwards it is so nice!

  2. I want you to know that thanks to you, I read pretty much the entire Crunchy Betty blog in one day. Reminded me how I used to take time to make beauty and cleaning products. I’m on day two of using honey on my face. Don’t know how much difference it will make, but it’s becoming a favorite part of my day.

    • In that case, I feel like I have done you a service! Crunchy Betty is my absolute most favorite site ever. She tweeted me today and I seriously got so excited I almost fell off the bed. I love the honey. I’m finished with the challenge, but I’m going to keep going!

Tell Me About It

