20 Minutes 300 Calories

I detest working out on my days off. It has something to do with being at your place of employment and not getting paid, I think.

The downside to this is that I love to eat on my days off! These are usually the days that I make sweets to take to E’s grandma or just have general pig out days. Plus, it’s too dang hot to do anything outside right now.

Luckily, I work about 4-5 days a week, and I almost always workout while I’m at work, and I do Zumba at the library twice a week, so I’m really not doing too bad. That is, unless I want to be a real pig. Which I do.

So I had to devise a plan to workout at home on my days off. In my super tiny apartment. Out of the scorching sun.

We don’t have very much workout equipment. Like I said, super tiny apartment. We have a jump rope, a yoga mat, and two dumbbells. One 15lbs and one 20lbs…go figure. So, I designed a 20 minute circuit that relies mostly on body weight resistance. According to www.livestrong.com, it should torch around 300 calories for just 20 minutes of work. You should try it!

Some general guidelines:

I’m not a doctor. This may not work for you. I’m not liable if you break your neck trying this.

If you know you have health problems, proceed with caution.

That being said, if  you are a beginner, instead of alternating 30 seconds, you may want to work for 15 seconds and rest for 45 until you build up stamina. If you are hardcore, you can do 45 seconds of work and rest for 15. I find 30-30 plenty challenging though.

20 Minute At Home Circuit:

Warm-Up: 3 Minutes:

Jump Rope

(You can “cheat” and just imitate jumping rope if you don’t have room. Yes, I know, 3 minutes is a LONG time to jump rope. It is hard.)

Do each exercise for 30 seconds then rest for 30 seconds.

3:00-3:30                     Dumbbell lunge and rotation with 15 lbs weight

Rest

4:00-4:30                     Mountain climbers

Rest

5:00-5:30                     Plank

Rest

6:00-6:30                     Burpies or Squat Thrusts

Rest

7:00-7:30                     Goblet squats with 15 lb weight

Rest

8:00-8:30                     Push ups

Rest

9:00-9:30                     Jumping jacks

Rest

10:00-10:30                 Leg tosses

Rest

11:00-11:30                 Sumo squats

Rest

12:00-12:30                 Side Plank –Left

Rest

13:00-13:30                 Side Plank –Right

Rest

14:00-14:30                 Tricep Dips

Rest

Cool Down: 5 Minutes:

Stretch every major muscle group.

DO THIS if you want to keep from being miserably sore!

If you are unsure how to do any of these and you are reading this blog…which you are…then you probably know how to use google, so look it up!

Sweat now, gripe tomorrow, and enjoy the results later!

 

Tell Me About It

