Impromptu Botox

Karma is a b-word sometimes. Go ahead,you can say it, I won’t tell. I know it’s true. You know it’s true. Hey! Even karma probably knows it’s true.

We’ve all had those times when we are trying so hard for something good only to be let down, put out, or in some cases mildly injured.

It happened this morning, my impromptu Botox. I got up at 5:30 (5:30!!), took a super fast shower, stuffed my feet into still tied shoes and went to the bed to give E a goodbye kiss on the head. I leaned down, E leaned up. E’s big ‘ol head collided with my lil ‘ol lip. Lip exploded in pain. Eyes watered. And I didn’t even have time to whine about it (except for now) because I was going to be late for work!

With my puffy lip, I started along on my merry way. (Slightly less merry because my lip was still stinging and my eyes were still a little watery, but I went on my way, none the less.)

On the short trip to work, I kept mulling it over in my head. That never happens. Why the heck did that happen?! Then I thought, “Who am I kidding? That happens all the time!”

It does.Karma has a way of popping up when you least expect it. (Not to say that my puffy lip is what I deserve because of something bad I did in the past, but just to say that even when we are trying to do something nice, bad things happen.) So, what is a girl to do?

With a swollen lip and distrust in the universe, I decided that is best to just accept that even when we try hard, life is going to throw us a curve ball every once in a while. Keep trying hard, keep being sweet, and start kissing people in their sleep instead of paying to have rat poison injected into your lips. Impromptu Botox is so much more fulfilling. Not.

Tell Me About It

